Four Guardians win Gold Gloves

The Cleveland Guardians have four Gold Glove Award Winners.

Five members of the Cleveland Guardians were finalists for a Gold Glove and four ended up coming away with the award. Andres Gimenez, Shane Bieber, Myles Straw, and Steven Kwan won a Gold Glove at their respective positions. The lone finalist not to win was third baseman Jose Ramirez.

Defense was a trademark of the Cleveland Guardians this season so the MLB high four Gold Glove winners is hardly a surprise. In addition to leading all of baseball in Gold Gloves, this was a franchise record for the Guardians.

Notes about the winners

Steven Kwan is just the second rookie in team history to win a Gold Glove, the first being Sandy Alomar. Kwan is also the with rookie outfielder to win the award, the most recent being Luis Robert in 2020.

Myles Straw joins Kwan as the first Cleveland outfielders to win a Gold Glove since Grady Sizemore in 2008.

Andres Gimenez is the second Guardians second baseman to win a Gold Glove in the last three seasons (Cesar Hernandez 2020).

Shane Bieber is the first Cleveland pitcher to win a Gold Glove since Rick Manning in 1976.

Browns Previous post Just what are the Browns at the bye?
Browns Next post Browns quiet at deadline