Shane Bieber wins American League Cy Young

Shane Bieber wins American League Cy Young

The Cleveland Baseball Club starting pitcher won the award unanimously.

As expected Shane Bieber has won the American League Cy Young Award. Also as expected, he did so unanimously. Bieber became the first pitcher in Cleveland Baseball Club history to do so.

Bieber had an absolutely dominant regular season, leading all of baseball in ERA (1.63), strikeouts (122), K/9 (14.2), FIP (2.07), and ERA+ (281) in 77.1 innings. Bieber’s 5.4 hits allowed per nine innings led the American League and his 0.866 WHIP was second.

Shane Bieber is the most recent Cleveland Baseball Club pitcher to win the award. Cleveland has been churning out Cy Young quality pitchers for quite some time now. There have been four Cleveland pitchers to win five awards since 2007. These pitchers include C.C. Sabathia, Cliff Lee, and two-time winner Corey Kluber.

The 2020 season could just be the start for Shane Bieber in the hardware department. There is a very good possibility he wins another Cy Young and that could come as soon as next season. Cleveland is in good hands with their ace Shane Bieber leading their pitching staff.


Written by:

2,298 Posts

View All Posts
Follow Me :