Kevin Stefanski named PFWA Coach of the Year

Kevin Stefanski named PFWA Coach of the Year

The PFWA has named Kevin Stefanski Coach of the Year.

The Professional Football Writers of America certainly loves them some Cleveland Browns. After naming Jedrick Wills Jr. and Harrison Bryant to their All-Rookie Team, they have come back and named Kevin Stefanski their Coach of the Year. Stefanski is only the second Browns coach to win the award, the other being Marty Schottenheimer.

Kevin Stefanski easily surpassed expectations for the Browns during the 2020 season. Stefanski took over a team that was still reeling from yet another coaching change. Add in the complications of trying to install new systems and offensive schemes during a pandemic, it just makes the job he did much more impressive. Stefanski led the Browns to their first winning season since 2007, their first playoff berth since 2002, and their first playoff win since 1994. The 11-5 record was the best since the original incarnation of the team and when Bill Belichick was patrolling the sidelines of old Cleveland Municipal.

The fact that Kevin Stefanski was named PFWA Coach of the Year is hardly surprising. In fact, it would have been surprising if he wouldn’t have been named Coach of the Year. Stefanksi did a hell of a job for the Browns in his first year and that has things looking up for the first time in a very long time.


Written by:

1,791 Posts

View All Posts
Follow Me :